EIFF Student Critics 2014

Image for EIFF Student Critics 2014

Edinburgh International Film Festival is pleased to confirm the return of the Student Critics Jury for its third year and now invites students to apply to experience the Festival as a film critic.

The initiative, which affirms EIFF’s continuing support for the future of film criticism, will bring to Edinburgh again this year a jury of seven aspiring critics.

The Student Critics Jury, inaugurated at EIFF 2012, enables the next generation of film critics to expand their knowledge of contemporary world cinema, develop their ability to evaluate and write about films and give a prestigious award at EIFF. Students will gain practical experience in their craft under the mentorship of established professional critics. Last year’s mentors were Nick James (Editor, Sight & Sound), Kate Taylor (Exhibition and Distribution Officer, Independent Cinema Office) and Gabe Klinger (writer, film programmer and filmmaker).

Applicants are invited from students enrolled at Scotland’s higher education or further education institutions. The seven student critics will be selected on the basis of a 500-word essay to be submitted by 12 May. The essay may be on the subject of any recent or classic film and should demonstrate the applicant’s writing skills and passion for and knowledge of cinema.

The jurors will view films from various strands of the EIFF 2014 programme and complete reading assignments and reviews of films; ultimately determining the recipient of the Student Critics Jury Award, to be presented at the EIFF Awards Ceremony.

Chris Fujiwara, Artistic Director of EIFF, said: “At a time when the role of the film critic and the nature of film criticism are in flux, it’s essential that film festivals affirm the value of informed and intelligent appreciation of films. Our Student Critics Jury programme is intended to do just that, and I’m deeply grateful to James and Morag Anderson, whose continuing support in 2014 will enable us to build on the success of the programme in the two previous years.”

The seven selected students will be brought to Edinburgh for six days of the Festival (EIFF runs from the 18th to the 29th June); accommodation and travel (within Scotland) will be covered by EIFF. The Student Critics Jury returns to EIFF thanks to the generous support of James and Morag Anderson.

2013’s Student Critics Jury members were Vivek Santayana, Catarina Mourao, Ruth Swift-Wood, Rebecca Bowen, Kathryn Craigmyle, Lewis Camley and Phil Kennedy, who awarded the prize to CELESTIAL WIVES OF THE MEADOW MARI, directed by Alexey Fedorchenko, which the Jury called, “a light-hearted, perceptive and beautiful celebration of fading mythologies”.

See the films. Write the review. Give the award.
Applications open 14 Apr.
For further information please visit:

For further press information, please contact:
EIFF Press Team, Organic Marketing: / 0203 372 0970

The full press relese can be downloaded here.

Bookmark and Share


Login or Register to post a comment

  • Mishra 1990 Saturday 8th October, 2016 / 10:55 GMT

    Relocating to a new place could prove to be stressful and time consuming at the same time.
    Packers and Movers Blog
  • Mishra 1990 Saturday 8th October, 2016 / 10:55 GMT

    We realize your emotions towards your belongings and work with care to deliver it securely.
  • Mishra 1990 Saturday 8th October, 2016 / 10:55 GMT

    We respect the principle of time management and make sure you get the best thing at the exact time with full term security.

2016 Festival Diary:

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

Click on a day to highlight movies on that day.

Films by Continent


Share this page

Share this Film Festival page with your friends and family.

Find Films By Strand

EIFF is split into Strands. Use them to help find your films.

What are the strands?

Featured Trailer