EIFF Awards 2015

The 69th Edinburgh International Film Festival had a selection of awards for both Feature and Short films including the prestigious Michael Powell Award which is awarded to an outstanding British feature fiction.

The much celebrated Michael Powell Award has been a beacon for almost 25 years, highlighting excellent British filmmaking talent. Previous winners have included:

  • Shane Meadows for Sommers Town (EIFF 2008)
  • Pawel Pawlikowski for My Summer of Love (EIFF 2004)
  • Derek Jarman for Blue (EIFF 1993)

Find out about our Jurors for 2015.

The following awards were given at the 69th Edinburgh International Film Festival:


The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film

Michael Powell was one Britain’s most originally filmmakers, with a career spanning 60 years. The Michael Powell Award was inaugurated at EIFF in 1990 to honour imagination and creativity in British filmmaking and is regarded as a mark of prestige both within and outside the UK film industry.

View the 2015 nominees.

201 Winner: 45 Years (Andrew Haigh)


The Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film

Judged by the Michael Powell Award Competition jury, this award is intended to celebrate and promote the great tradition of the art of film performance in the UK.

2015 Winners: James Cosmo (The Pyramid Texts) and Charlotte Rampling (45 Years)


The Award for Best International Feature Film

EIFF seeks to represent global trends in cinema by introducing important new films and new filmmaking directions. This award is intended to highlight filmmaking from outside the UK that is imaginative, innovative and deserving of wider recognition.

View the 2015 nominees.

2015 Winner: The Diary of a Teenage Girl (Marielle Heller)


The Audience Award

EIFF’s Audience Award, a popular award with the public, filmmakers and distributors alike, was reintroduced in EIFF 2013 after a two-year hiatus.

The award is voted for by cinema-goers attending public screenings. Embracing the Festival’s ongoing commitment to engage audiences in discussion of the art and the future of cinema, the Audience Award programme solicits and publishes audience commentary via online forums.

Eligible films are selected from across the EIFF programme by the Artistic Director.

View the 2015 nominees.

2015 Winner: Big Gold Dream: Scottish Post-Punk and Infiltrating the Mainstream (Grant McPhee)


The Award for Best Short Film

The award affirms EIFF’s long-standing support of directors of short films and is intended both to recognise the outstanding achievements possible within the short format and to offer encouragement for the feature filmmakers of the future.

View the 2015 nominees.

2015 Winner: Scrapbook (Mike Hoolboom)


The McLaren Award for New British Animation

Supported by the British Council

First given in 1990, this award provides a focus for new British short animation and recognises the spirit of creativity. The award, named in honour of Norman McLaren, the renowned Scottish-born animator, is decided by audience vote.

2015 Winner: Stems (Ainslie Henderson)


The Award for Best Documentary Feature

Feature-length documentaries from around the world are eligible for this award, which was re-introduced at EIFF 2014 after a three-year hiatus.

2015 Winner: The Wolfpack (Crystal Moselle)


Student Critics Jury Award

Supported by James and Morag Anderson

The Student Critics Jury programme, inaugurated at EIFF 2012, affirms EIFF’s support for the future of film criticism by giving the next generation of film critics an opportunity to gain practical experience in their craft under the guidance of established professional critics.

Members of the jury are selected from applications received from higher-education and further-education institutions in Scotland.

In addition to giving an award, the jury members will write short essays about the films and the festival. Eligible films are selected from across the EIFF programme by the Artistic Director.

2015 Winner: Black Mountain Poets (Jamie Adams).


Eligibility for all awards will be at the Artistic Director's discretion.

Read our 2015 Awards Ceremony news story.

2016 Festival Diary:

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

Click on a day to highlight movies on that day.

Films by Continent


Share this page

Share this Film Festival page with your friends and family.

Find Films By Strand

EIFF is split into Strands. Use them to help find your films.

What are the strands?

Featured Trailer