EIFF Awards 2015

The 69th year Edinburgh International Film Festival will have a selection of awards for both Feature and Short films including the prestigious Michael Powell Award which is awarded to an outstanding British feature fiction. The much celebrated, much loved Michael Powell Award has been a beacon for almost 25 years, highlighting excellent British filmmaking talent. Previous winners have included Shane Meadows for Sommers Town (EIFF 2008), Pawel Pawlikowski for My Summer of Love (EIFF 2004) and Derek Jarman for Blue (EIFF 1993).


The following awards will be given at the 69th EIFF:

The Michael Powell Award for Best British Feature Film
Michael Powell was one Britain’s most originally filmmakers, with a career spanning 60 years. The Michael Powell Award was inaugurated at EIFF in 1990 to honour imagination and creativity in British filmmaking and is regarded as a mark of prestige both within and outside the UK film industry.

2014 Winner: Hide and Seek (Joanna Coates)

The Award for Best Performance in a British Feature Film
Judged by the Michael Powell Award Competition jury, this award is intended to celebrate and promote the great tradition of the art of film performance in the UK.

2014 Winners: Eddie Marsan (Still Life)

The Award for Best Film in the International Feature Competition
EIFF seeks to represent global trends in cinema by introducing important new films and new filmmaking directions. This award is intended to highlight filmmaking from outside the UK that is imagination, innovation and deserving of wider recognition.

2014 Winner: Ice Poison (Midi Z)

The Award for Best Documentary Feature Film
Feature-length documentaries from around the world are eligible for this award, which was re-introduced at EIFF 2014 after a three-year hiatus.

2014 Winner: My Name Is Salt (Farida Pacha)

The Student Critics Jury Award
The Student Critics Jury programme, inaugurated at EIFF 2012, affirms EIFF’s support for the future of film criticism by giving the next generation of film critics an opportunity to gain practical experience in their craft under the guidance of established professional critics. Members of the jury are selected from applications received from higher-education and further-education institutions in Scotland. In additional to giving an award, the jury members will write short essays about the films and hte festival. Eligible films are selected from across the EIFF programme by the Artistic Director.

2014 Winner: Stations of the Cross (Dietrich Brüggemann)

The Audience Award
EIFF’s Audience Award, a popular award with the public, filmmakers and distributors alike, was reintroduced in EIFF 2013 after a two-year hiatus. The award is voted for by cinema-goers attending public screenings. Embracing the Festival’s ongoing commitment to engage audiences in discussion of the art and the future of cinema, the Audience Award programme solicits and publishes audience commentary via online forums. Eligible films are selected from across the EIFF programme by the Artistic Director.

2014 Winner: Tony Benn: Will & Testament (Skip Kite)

The Award for Best Film in the Short Film Competition
The award affirms EIFF’s long-standing support of directors of short films and is intended both to recognise the outstanding achievements possible within the short format and to offer encouragement for the feature filmmakers of the future.

2014 Winner: Slap (Nick Rowland)

The McLaren Award for New British Animation
First given in 1990, this award provides a focus for new British short animation and recognises the spirit of creativity. The award, named in honour of Norman McLaren, the renowned Scottish-born animator, is decided by audience vote.

2014 Winner: My Stuffed Granny (Effie Pappa)

Eligibility for all awards will be at the Artistic Director's discretion.

Latest news

This Is Edinburgh and EIFF Launch Film in the City 2015

This Is Edinburgh, in partnership with EIFF, invites locals of all ages to free outdoor cinema screenings in the Grassmarket and St Andrew Square.

All News

News Feeds