EIFF Jury line-up announced

Image for EIFF Jury line-up announced

The Jury members for the EIFF awards have been announced and 2010 sees an illustrious set of silver screen legends raring to rate the Festival’s discoveries.

President of the prestigious Michael Powell award jury, sponsored by the UK Film Council, will be Sir Patrick Stewart, who is also the subject of the BAFTA Scotland Interview.

He will be joined by former Bond girl and star of The Wicker Man, Britt Ekland and the critically acclaimed director of Get Carter and Croupier, Mike Hodges. Also deliberating will be award-winning Iranian director, Rafi Pitts (The Hunter) and senior film curator of the New York Museum of Modern Art, Laurence Kardish.

Sir Patrick was thrilled to lead the Michael Powell Jury.

“I am immensely honoured to be presiding over this year’s Michael Powell Jury in Edinburgh, which I’m sure will be a fascinating cinematic journey, exploring the newest offerings from British filmmakers. I’m also thrilled to be in such excellent company in a beautiful city at a great Festival!”

The films in the British Gala section will be competing for the £15,000 prize which is one of the largest film awards currently available in the UK.

In its second year, the newly-sponsored Best International Feature Award will be judged by a panel of acclaimed industry personalities including Jason Isaacs who stars as Lucius Malfoy in Harry Potter and director and comedian Ben Miller whose film Huge is nominated for the Michael Powell Award. Meanwhile ex-EIFF Artistic Director and producer of The Commitments, Lynda Miles returns to cast her experienced eye over the entries.

The Moët New Directors Award will be judged by a jury of three consisting of Johanna von Fischer (Director, British Independent Film Awards), arts journalist Miles Fielder (The Herald) and EIFF Artistic Director Hannah McGill.

The Documentary Jury include Man on Wire producer, Simon Chinn, journalist and writer Geoff Dyer and Canadian actress, director and journalist, Nelofar Pazira.

The jury for British Shorts award, also sponsored by the British Film Council, are BFI Head of Content Jane Giles, Jukka-Pekka Laakso from the Tampere Film Festival and Shira Macleod, cinema director Riverside Studios.

The International Shorts Jury are Alexandra Heneka (Internationales KurzFilmAgentur), Philip Ilson, programmer for London Short Film Festival and Damian Spandley (The Works UK Distribution).

And finally, the Scottish Short Documentary Jury, supported by Baillie Gifford, include director of EIFF premiere The People vs George Lucas, Alexandre O. Philippe and Edge of Dreaming editor, Ling Lee.

Bookmark and Share


Login or Register to post a comment

There are currently no comments on this article.

2016 Festival Diary:

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

Click on a day to highlight movies on that day.

Films by Continent


Share this page

Share this Film Festival page with your friends and family.

Find Films By Strand

EIFF is split into Strands. Use them to help find your films.

What are the strands?