Student Critics Jury 2015

This year our Student Critics Jury worked under the guidance of leading UK film critics Siobhan Synnot and Dave Calhoun.

The 2015 Student Critics Jury were

Andrew Murray
Anne Devlin
Emeline Beroud
Maddie Haynes
Sunrise Ishimwe
Michael Jaconelli
Catriona Morton

The students were mentored by leading international critics:

Siobhan Synnot is a Scottish film writer, broadcaster, producer and presenter who has worked for BBC, ITV, The Scotsman publications, Sunday Times, The Guardian, Trinity Mirror Group, Mail, The Independent, Herald, The Lady, Woman, New Look and The Herald Sun. Dave Calhoun is global film editor at Time Out. He has written on film for the Guardian, The Observer, The Times, Sight & Sound and other publications. Dave regularly broadcasts on Sky TV and BBC Radio and TV, and hosts film events at cinemas across London. He was previously deputy editor of Dazed & Confused magazine.

Seven students from Scottish Universities were selected for the EIFF Student Critics Jury 2015. During their time at EIFF they watched a shortlist of films and delivered daily written exercises, some of which are published here. These articles are the opinions of the individual jurors. 

They also determined the winner of the Student Critic Jury Award, presented at the EIFF Awards Ceremony. The jurors selected Black Mountain Poets as winner of the 2015 Student Critics Jury Award.

This programme is generously supported by James and Morag Anderson.

For further information on the Student Critics Jury programme please contact EIFF Head of Education Nicola Kettlewood –

2016 Festival Diary:

1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

Click on a day to highlight movies on that day.

Films by Continent


Share this page

Share this Film Festival page with your friends and family.

Find Films By Strand

EIFF is split into Strands. Use them to help find your films.

What are the strands?

Featured Trailer