Student Critics Jury

Supported By: James and Morag Anderson

Being a part of the EIFF Student Critics Jury is a great opportunity for those in Further or Higher Education in Scotland to experience the festival as a critic and expand their knowledge of contemporary world cinema.

What is Student Critics Jury?

Now in it’s third year, the Edinburgh International Film Festival Student Critics Jury enables students to expand their knowledge of contemporary world cinema, develop their ability to evaluate and write about films and give a prestigious award at EIFF. The students will be mentored by leading international critics as they see films from various strands of the EIFF programme and complete reading assignments and reviews of films. They will also determine the winner of the Student Critic Jury Award, presented at the EIFF Awards Ceremony.

Who can apply, and how?

Seven students will be chosen on the basis of a 500 word essay submitted by 12 May 2014. This essay can be written on any recent or classic film, demonstrating the applicant’s writing skills as well as passion for and knowledge of cinema. Eligible applicants must be enrolled at College or University in Scotland. Completed applications should include your Name, Address, Place of Study, Matriculation Number and Contact Number. Applications for 2014 are now closed. 

Getting to EIFF

The seven chosen students will be brought to Edinburgh for six days of the festival (EIFF runs 18-29 June). Students will view a variety of films and attend the EIFF Awards Ceremony to present their chosen winner. Travel and accommodation bursaries are available on a separate application basis (Within Scotland only).

Student Critics Jury in 2013 

In 2013 The Student Critics Award Jury offered seven places for film critics of the future to attend EIFF and view a shortlisted programme of films. They worked with Nick James (Editor, Sight & Sound), Gabe Klinger and Kate Taylor (Exhibition and Distribution Officer, Independent Cinema Office) and as mentors to develop their writing and critical skills. You can read some of last year's reviews from the Student Critics Jury on the EIFF Blog.




Latest news

Edinburgh International Film Festival Appoint New Artistic Director

Edinburgh International Film Festival (EIFF) today announced the appointment of Mark Adams to the position of Artistic Director.

All News

News Feeds