Scottish Film Summit

The Future of the Scottish Film Industry Post- Referendum

Wednesday 18 June 2014 09:00 - 15:30

Main Lecture Theatre, ECA Main Building, Lauriston Place

There will be a follow up session for the Chairs of all sessions on Thursday 19 June

This is the inaugural Scottish Film Summit, co-hosted and organised by the Edinburgh International Film Festival and Edinburgh College of Art.

The Scottish film sector is facing a period of immense change, challenge and opportunity. The aim of the Summit is to provide a forum for the whole of the industry to come together to discuss the future Scotland’s film industry wants to build. The summit will engage all sectors of the Scottish film industry, from producers, writers and directors, to facilities companies, location managers and crews, to film educators, archivists, trainers and academics, festivals, distributors and exhibitors.

As well as a forum for discussion and debate, the day will have keynote speakers setting out their views on the issues the Scottish film industry should be considering. This is an opportunity to present the current views and concerns of the industry, and to look at how we build the Scottish industry post-Referendum.

Attenders will receive lunch and tickets for the EIFF Opening night film screening and party.

Format of day:

9.00 Registration and coffee

9.45 Welcome from Ken Hay, Centre for the Moving Image, and Dr Jonny Murray, Edinburgh College of Art

10.00 Keynote Address by Janet Archer, Chief Executive of Creative Scotland

10.30 - 11.50 Breakout sessions 1

11.50 - 12.05 Plenary - feedback from sessions

12.05 - 1.05 Lunch and networking

1.05 - 1.35 Keynote Address - Siobhan Synnot, Scotland on Sunday Film critic

1.35 - 2.55 Breakout sessions 2

2.55 - 3.10 Plenary - feedback from sessions

3.10 - 3.25 Keynote address and observations: Iain Smith, producer

3.30 Close of Day One

Locations Panel:

Chair - Rosie Ellison, Film Edinburgh,
Anna Rathband, Film Liaison for National Trust for Scotland
Jenni Steele, VisitScotland
Gillian Urquhart, Film Liason for Historic Scotland
Julie Craik, Tayscreen
Hamish Walker, Glasgow Film Office
Eileen Byrne from Visual Impact

Film Education Panel:

Chair - Des Murphy, secretary of Association for Media Education in Scotland, editor of the ‘Media Education Journal
Helen Fairlie, Development Officer in Literacy at Education Scotland
Clive Gillman, DCA, Scottish Film Consortium
Rick Instrell, Association for Media Education in Scotland Deep Learning
Graham Fitzpatrick Creative Manager, Screen Education Edinburgh

Writing Panel:

Chair- Andrea Gibb (Dear Frankie)
Sergio Casci (American Cousins)
Morag McKinnon (Donkeys)
Catriona MacInnes (I'm in Away from Here)
James Mavor (Reichenbach Falls)

Credits for this panel include: Doors Open, Reichenbach Falls, Dear Frankie, Afterlife, A Cuillin Rising, I'm in Away from Here, Still Game, Chewing the Fat, Donkeys, and I Am Breathing. And much more.

Independent Producers Panel

Producers now confirmed are Eddie Dick (Chair), John Archer (Hopscotch), Gillian Berrie (Sigma Films), Arabella Page-Croft (Black Camel), Mike Kelly, Leslie Hills (Skyline), Annie Griffin (Pirate Productions) and Karen Smyth (La Belle Allee).

Exhibitors panel:

Chair Andrew Ormston (Director of Drew Wylie and Associate Director of Berwick Film & Media Arts Festival, panellists: Allison Gardner (Glasgow Film Theatre/Glasgow Film Festival), Ben Kampas (Scottish Documentary Institute), Robin MacPherson (Screen Academy), Andy Green (Distrify)

Other Participating organisations include:

Independent Producers Scotland
Screen Facilities Scotland
Film Hub Scotland
Association of Media Education Scotland
Association of Film & Television Practitioners Scotland
Scottish Locations Network
Writers’ Guild of Great Britain
Scottish Documentary Institute
Scottish Animation Network
Creative Skillset
Film Access Network Scotland

Industry news signup


Delegate registration

Register now as a delegate.