EIFF titles sweep up

EIFF titles swept the board at the BAFTA awards ceremony, as three films from our 2009 edition picked up a total of 8 awards

The big winner of the night, Kathryn Bigelow’s The Hurt Locker, ran away with 6 awards including the first Best Director BAFTA awarded to a woman. It received its UK premiere at EIFF in June last year with actor Brian Geraghty in attendance to introduce the film.

Our 2009 Michael Powell Award winner, Duncan Jones, was the recipient of Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer, for his first feature Moon, which had its international premiere here in Edinburgh.

Further flying the flag for British talent, Andrea Arnold’s Fish Tank was awarded the BAFTA for Outstanding British Film, was also first introduced to UK audiences at EIFF. Both directors attended the Festival, and Moon and Fish Tank went on to appear in 2009’s Best of the Fest.

Great news and well done to all concerned.



Bookmark and Share
Diane first started working at Filmhouse/EIFF in 1986 while studying for her degree in Photography at Edinburgh Napier University. Since then she has held a variety of jobs including Marketing Officer with Filmhouse, Exhibition Curator with Edinburgh College of Art and General Manager of Edinburgh's Cameo Cinema. She has been employed in her current role since 2006.


Login or Register to post a comment

There are currently no comments on this article.